Essay II - The Other - English Composition II - ENGL 1020 - Dr. Whelan - LibGuides at Sowela Technical Community College

Helpful Databases

Use the databases below to find resources that discuss stereotypes in the news, popular media, and scholarship.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text articles from more than 6,100 multi-disciplinary periodicals including 5,100 peer-reviewed journals; and more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings, etc.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 570 highly regarded reference titles including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, and more!
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 600,000 documents, including the arts, sciences, and technology
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journals & ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and interdisciplinary content; not for current events.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world’s leading publishers.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides sociology articles and information with over 390 full-text journals, over 720 books, and over 6,700 conference papers.

Search Tips

Combine the word "stereotype" with the social group that you chose when you search the databases.
When you read, pay attention to the terms that the authors use. Try another search with those terms and ideas.
Search each stereotypes individually.
Don't just search for the stereotypes, search for the facts that dispel those stereotypes. Think of arguments that disprove the stereotypes you're writing about, and search for supporting facts or evidence in the databases.

Subject Terms

Database Subject Terms allow you to easily search the database by topic.

These links will show you all of the articles under the "Stereotypes" subject term in the following databases:

Many subject terms also have sub-topics. Sub-topics will help you narrow your search. Search these subject terms list in these database to find out what sub-topics are available under the "Stereotypes" subject term.

Click on "Subjects" or "Subject Terms" at the top of the screen in the blue menu bar.
Search for your term and click on it. The next page will show you the sub-topics.
Check the boxes for the sub-topics you want to search.
Click the gray "Add" button. This will add the sub-topic to the search bar with the code "DE"
Then click the green "Search" button to start your search.

Academic Encyclopedias

These encyclopedia resources have short (1 to 5 pages) articles that are packed with great information.

Articles on "Gender Roles" from the Credo Reference database.
"Stereotypes" search in Gale eBooks database

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Contains 175 essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. Each essay has a list of suggestions for further reading and a general annotated bibliography.
Encyclopedia of American Studies by Patrick L. Mason (Editor)
Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Angela Doolin (Editor)
The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that, gave rise and continue to foster racism.