LibGuides: African American History and Culture: Databases

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides extensive, five to ten pages reports on a single issue, including extensive sourcing, pro vs. con analysis, and fact-checking by professional editors. It works very well as an introduction and overview to a new topic.

Systemic Racism
An extraordinarily thorough examination of systemic racism, its recent history in the United States, and its impact on the African-American community.
Slavery's Legacy
An article discussing the 1619 project, which discusses how slavery is taught in American schools.
Reparations for Slavery
An exhaustive article discussing multiple viewpoints of offering reparations for slavery to descendants of American slaves.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference contains articles from hundreds of different encyclopedias, thesauruses and dictionaries.

Atlantic Slave Trade
From the sixteenth through the nineteenth century the Atlantic slave trade was an international network between Africa, Europe, and the New World for the exchange of three types of commodities: crops and other raw materials, manufactured goods, and human beings
African American Almanac
The most complete and affordable single-volume reference of African American culture available today, this almanac is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating and demystifying the moving, difficult, and often lost history of black life in America.
Black Panthers
U.S. African-American militant party, founded (1966) in Oakland, Calif., by Huey P. Newton and Bobby Seale. Originally aimed at armed self-defense against the local police, the party grew to espouse violent revolution as the only means of achieving black liberation.
Jim Crow Laws
Statutes enacted by Southern states and municipalities, beginning in the 1880s, that legalized segregation between blacks and whites.
NAACP
An organization composed mainly of American blacks, but with many white members, whose goal is the end of racial discrimination and segregation.
Emancipation Proclamation
Articles discussing the executive order abolishing slavery in the Confederate States of America.
Underground Railroad
A loosely organized system for helping fugitive slaves escape to Canada or to areas of safety in free states. It was run by local groups of Northern abolitionists , both white and free blacks.
Harlem Renaissance
The Harlem Renaissance was the cultural front of the New Negro movement heralded by privileged intellectual leaders during the 1920s. It was also a marker of drastic demographic change with huge political implications, and the historical occasion in which African America's expressive tendencies took on an urban cast.
Tuskegee Airmen
A link to numerous encyclopedia articles about the Tuskegee Airmen, including a Mind Map to explore related concepts.

Databases

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full page scans of African-American Newspaper articles published between 1827- 1998, includes Freedom’s Journal the first African-American owned and operated newspaper in the United States.
American Historical Newspapers – Louisiana This link opens in a new window
Full scans of Louisiana Newspapers, ranging from 1805 to 1900.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
The Black Life in America series from Readex offers wide-ranging coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to 1975. This series is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

JSTOR African American Studies
A link to JSTOR's African-American studies, including journals about religion, gender, history, African countries, and higher education. Use the search box available on the front page of the website to search for available articles.

Research Starters

Research Starters, provided by EBSCOHost, offer a short overview of a particular topic, with links to additional material on the same subject.

Black Lives Matter
A brief description of the history and goals of Black Lives Matter from the Salem Press Encyclopedia.
Tuskegee Airmen
A short history of the Tusksgee Airmen, starting with their inception and continuing into the recognition they've received in the present day.