Library Resources - Introduction to Health Care - ACNA 1110 - LibGuides at Sowela Technical Community College

Directions

This guide contains library resources and research tips for the "Introduction to Health Care" course - ACNA 1110.

Use the menu on the left to find the best library resources and other materials for your assignments in this course.

CINAHL Plus with full text

Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937. Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and most effective treatment options.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MedicLatina
Provides access to a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.
MEDLINE
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Created by the National Library of Medicine it offers citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
MedlinePlus

Consumer health information service produced by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM). The site brings together information from the NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), other U.S. government agencies and health-related organizations.
Nursing & Allied Health
Provides full-text information from leading nursing and allied health journals. It includes Systemic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practices Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.
Trip Medical Database

Find and use high-quality research evidence firmly rooted in the world of evidence-based medicine.

Directions for accessing eBooks:

Log in to access each database: your user ID is your L# and your pin is the 6 (six) digit code for your birthday - MMDDYY.
You must sign up for an account with EBSCO and download and use Adobe Digital Editions software to use EBSCO's ebook collection.
Further directions for downloading ebooks from EBSCOhost can be found at EBSCO Connect.

Search the following databases to find eBooks on the topic of health care:

Health & Medicine eBook Collection

Browse this selection of health & medicine ebooks. Keep the following code in the search bar to search within this collection of ebooks: (EC HEA* OR EC MED*)

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by VENES
CDA - Login required with L-number and pin.

Limited to 6 users/readers at a time.
Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd Edition by Harvey Marcovitch (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018

A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
A Dictionary of Nursing by Jonathan Law (Editor); Tanya A. McFerran
Publication Date: 2021-07-20

Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Gale Research Inc (Other)
Publication Date: 2020-04-03

Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons.