Databases - Pediatric Nursing - ANUR 2323 - LibGuides at Sowela Technical Community College

Medical Databases

To access the SOWELA Library's databases log in with your L-number. Your pin is the 6 digits of your birthday - MMDDYY.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Created by the National Library of Medicine it offers citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information from leading nursing and allied health journals. It includes Systemic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practices Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Health information for patients/consumers. The site brings together information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, other U.S. government agencies, and health-related organizations.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Keywords

When searching the databases, only use the most relevant keywords. Also search for synonyms of your keywords.

Example:

Research Question:   What are the effects of stress on preterm births?

Keywords:                  stress, preterm

Synonyms:                 anxiety, premature, labor, delivery

MeSH Terms

Many medical databases group their articles under different topics called medical subject headings (MeSH). You can use these MeSH terms to focus your search on the exact topics you need. The databases will also help you discover the MeSH term you need to use.

While subject headings can help you search the databases for more accurate search results, subject headings are not available for all topics, such as specific cases or newer conditions and treatments.