LibGuides: Nursing & Allied Health: Books and E-books

Directions

The SOWELA Library has resources that can help nursing & allied health students succeed.

Relevant databases are listed below. The tabs on the left provide tips and tools for searching the databases and information for your examinations.

Browse the Shelves

Use the call numbers below to find books about health care on the library's shelves.

R: Medicine (general)
RA: Public aspects of medicine
RB: Patholody
RC: Internal medicine
RD: Surgery
RG: Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ: Pediatrics
RM: Therapeutics
RS: Pharmacy
RT: Nursing

eBooks

Health & Medicine eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Browse this selection of health & medicine ebooks. Keep the following code in the search bar to search within this collection of ebooks: (EC HEA* OR EC MED*)

Directions for accessing eBooks:

Log in to access each database: your user ID is your L# and your pin is the 6 (six) digit code for your birthday - MMDDYY.
You must sign up for an account with EBSCO and download and use Adobe Digital Editions software to use EBSCO's ebook collection.
Further directions for downloading ebooks from EBSCOhost can be found at EBSCO Connect.

Search the following databases to find eBooks on the topic of health care:

The SOWELA library has a large collection of nursing e-books available through our catalog and various databases. The list below has some suggestions. Contact a librarian if you don't find what you're looking for.

Medical Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by VENES
CDA - Login required with L-number and pin.

Limited to 6 users/readers at a time.
Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd Edition by Harvey Marcovitch (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
A Dictionary of Nursing by Jonathan Law (Editor); Tanya A. McFerran
Publication Date: 2021-07-20
Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Gale Research Inc (Other)
Publication Date: 2020-04-03
Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons.