LibGuides: Nursing 1100 (Fundamentals) : Research Project

Directions

This guide contains library resources and research tips for the Nursing 1100 (Fundamentals) Class.

Use the menu on the left to find the best library resources and other materials for your assignments in this course.

Hospital: 2024 National Patient Safety Goals
Included are links to the Joint Commission's 2024 National Patient Safety Goals (NPSGs) for the Hospital program.

E-books

There are several ebooks in the Health and Medicine Ebook Collection that could potentially be useful for this project. Some examples are linked below, but feel free to search using your specific topic's search terms.

See this guide for more information on downloading e-books from the databases.

Health & Medicine eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Browse this selection of health & medicine ebooks. Keep the following code in the search bar to search within this collection of ebooks: (EC HEA* OR EC MED*)

Patient Safety by Jacqueline Fowler Byers; Susan V. White
ISBN: 9780826133465
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
This book provides readers with both a foundation of theoretical knowledge regarding patient safety as well as evidence-based strategies for preventing errors in various clinical settings. The authors' goal is to help clinicians and administrators gain the skills and knowledge they need to develop safe patient practices in their organizations. Key topics include: An overview of evidence-based best practices for patient safety Clear explanation of important patient safety policies and legislation Innovative uses of technology such as computerized provider order entry, barcoding medications, and computerized clinical decision support systems The importance of an informed patient in preventing medical errors How to communicate with the public and the patient about errors if they occur Special patient safety concerns for children, the elderly, and the mentally ill
Patient Safety Ethics by John D. Banja
ISBN: 9781421429083
Publication Date: 2019-06-25
Developing best practices and ethical systems to protect and enhance patient safety. Human errors occur all too frequently in medical practice settings. One sobering recent report claimed that medical errors are the third leading cause of death in the United States. Hoping to reverse this disturbing trend but wondering why it is that things usually go well despite errors, John D. Banja's Patient Safety Ethics lays out a model that advocates vigilance, mindfulness, compliance, and humility as core ethical principles of patient safety. Arguing that the safe provision of healthcare is one of the most fundamental moral obligations of clinicians, Banja surveys the research literature on harm-causing medical errors to explore the ethical foundations of patient safety and to reduce the severity and frequency of medical error. Drawing on contemporary scholarship on quality improvement, risk management, and medical decision making, Banja also relies on a novel source of information to illustrate patient safety ethics: medical malpractice suits. Providing professional perspective with insights from prominent patient safety experts, Patient Safety Ethics identifies hazard pitfalls and suggests concrete ways for clinicians and regulators to improve patient safety through an ethically cultivated program of "hazard awareness."
Patient Safety and Management by Eugene Williams
ISBN: 9781536107463
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
The harm associated with health care is a questionable issue and several systemic global strategies to reduce it with a safer system are being developed. Despite these efforts, errors continue to happen and one of the most important challenges is to become aware of its real dimension and process-occurrence. This book provides new research on patient safety and management. It discusses different perspectives, principles and reviews emerging issues in the medical field.

Medical Databases

To access the SOWELA Library's databases log in with your L-number. Your pin is the 6 digits of your birthday - MMDDYY.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system. Created by the National Library of Medicine it offers citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information service produced by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM). The site brings together information from the NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), other U.S. government agencies and health-related organizations.
Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information from leading nursing and allied health journals. It includes Systemic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practices Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.

Keywords

Only use the most relevant keywords to search the database based on your research question. Also search for synonyms of your keywords.

Example:

Research Question:   What are the effects of stress on preterm births?

Keywords:                  stress, preterm

Synonyms:                 anxiety, premature, labor, delivery

MeSH Terms

Many medical databases group their articles under different topics called medical subject headings (MeSH). You can use these MeSH terms to focus your search on the exact topics you need. The databases will also help you discover the MeSH term you need to use.

While subject headings can help you search the databases for more accurate search results, subject headings are not available for all topics, such as specific cases or newer conditions and treatments.

Evaluating Websites

Use domain name types to determine reliability and access

.com – commercial business
.org – organizations
.edu – educational institutions
.gov – government agencies

.gov domains will usually be our best source since they are both reliable and accessible to the public.

Consider 4 aspects about a source to determine if it is reliable:

Author
Motivation or Bias
Evidence
Timeliness

1. Author

Is the author listed?
Is the author an individual or a group?
What makes the author an expert?

2. Motivation or Bias

Is this opinion or fact?
Is the source supported by an organization or company? What do they stand to gain from this?
Websites ending in ".edu" or ".gov" will more likely present a neutral point of view (but not always).
Are your own biases making you critical about the source before examining the evidence?

3. Evidence

Does the source provide any evidence such as citations or links? Do the links work?
Was the information reviewed by experts?
Can you confirm the information in another source?

4. Timeliness

When was the information published or last updated?
Is the information up to date?